Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita

NEW ENDINGS

brut nordwest
Performance World premiere in English
{Storytelling} {Resistance} {Empowerment}

In Stefanie Sourial’s most recent production NEW ENDINGS, three performers bring past events back to life, changing the outcome of some unpleasant situations – not without humour, mind you – and transforming their realities using those new endings. In this manner, they tell their own stories while retelling history.

, ©

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Patu

Stefanie Sourial – NEW ENDINGS

It was a regular summer afternoon… It was a day full of running errands… It was Lower Austria – zoom – Krems an der Donau – zoom – the old town – zoom – me on my way home from school… It was at an event called ‘Flüchtlingsball’ to celebrate ‘diversity in Austria’…  It was at the entrance of the club, me finishing my cigarette before my shift… It was autumn or maybe the end of winter, very gloomy, cold, and rainy… when suddenly… when suddenly… when suddenly…

As an act of resistance the performers take charge of retelling violent or traumatising experiences with new endings. Those new outcomes of what they went through let them take that feeling of ‘I should have…’ as a call to travel back into those situations and do what they were unable to do, when they froze in the moment: to react, to stun, to defend themselves with all – performative – means and to rewrite history. The artistic team surrounding Stefanie Sourial, Hyo Lee, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Patu, Janine Jembere and Sunanda Mesquita will call past events back to life and turn them into music, live drawing, and a performance full of power and humour.

Stefanie Sourial was born in 1981. She works as a performance artist and teaches at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. In 2001/02 she gave theatre workshops for homeless youths in Cairo, Egypt. A graduate from the International Jacques Lecoq School for performance and directing in Paris, Sourial has been creating her own shows, including FREAK (2014/15), the performance trilogy Colonial Cocktail (2019), and her latest production City of Diaspora (2021) in co-production with brut Wien. Since 2012, Sourial has been working with the prize-winning company Theatre Ad Infinitum in the United Kingdom and since 2009, she has been collaborating with Vienna-based performance artists on a regular basis. For example, Sourial has been part of Vienna’s first queer-feminist burlesque collective Club Burlesque Brutal (2009–2015) and has had regular appearances at the PCCC* – Politically Correct Comedy Club, presenting anti-racist, queer stand-up skits. Her performances as such are likewise anti-racist, queer and full of social criticism, usually combining two types of narrative: a historical one and a personal one, both with a focus on the political.

https://www.stefaniesourial.com/

Faris Cuchi Gezahegn (they/them/she/her) is an intersectional LGBTQIA* advocate/activist, a performance artist, PCCC (Politically Correct Comedy Club) standup comedian, self-archivist, Ethiopian Queer knowledge and culture producer, and poet who uses different mediums such as style activism, writing, performance, and video/audio installations to bring social change and start a conversation that catalyzes change on issues they face while navigating day-to-day life as femme non-binary Ethiopian/African LGBTQIA* advocate with experience of asylum-seeking and refugee in Austria and also back to their homeland Ethiopia. They are co-founders and co-director and counter-narrative leaders at the House of Guramayle. House of Guramayle is a collaborative intersectional platform created by socially and politically marginalized Ethiopian activists worldwide. Through their work, they represented the Ethiopian Queer Community at Human Right Council in Geneva in Sept 2019 when their country Ethiopia was under the 33rd Universal Periodic Review session. They are co-founders of Celestial Poetic monthly QBIPoC open mic night at Freiräumchen at the historical queer community center Türkis Rosa TIPP aka Villa in Vienna. They are members and current vice-chair of Afro Rainbow Austria collective started by Queer African for Queer African in Austria by welcoming folks in their wholeness both as African/African decent queer bodies. They work with Queer Base on mental health that sculpts capacity centering the experience of Queer folks with knowledge of seeking asylum and refugee. Queer Base: an organization that welcomes queer folks that are seeking asylum by providing different services such as legal representation, social consulting, housing, and many more. 

Hyo Lee was born in Seoul, South Korea. She lives and works as an artist in Vienna. Hyo Lee studied photography and video installation at the University of Applied Art Vienna and the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. She performed in Colonial Cocktail – Volume 2: Spirits (2019)byStefanie Sourial and in Pomp (2020), Plum Circus (2019), Pfauenloch (2018), Pferdebusen (2017), Perlenmeere (2016), Powder Placenta (2015), Parole Rosette (2012) and Flaming Flamingos (2011) by Katrina Daschner.

Patu (@patuparia) is a cartoon artist and freelance illustrator based in Berlin. Patu’s works are focused on overlaps of personal and structural matters in every-day life from the perspective of queer and anti-racist empowerment. Patu has self-published comic zines and performed at various international comic and zine festivals since 2010. In 2015, they wrote and drew the non-fiction comic book A Brief History of Feminism, which was translated into five languages, followed by an issue of Homestories Comics by Vina Yun about the Korean diaspora in Vienna in 2017 and the comic book AQUARIUM addressing exclusion in the white-dominated comic industry in 2020. Patu is currently working on a BIPoC zine, a self-publishing platform, and a new comic book.

Janine Jembere is an artist, researcher, and cultural worker based in Vienna. She creates performances, installations, videos, sound, and educational programmes in various constellations with collaborators.  Her work circles around senses and bodies and challenges concepts of representation and translatability, ableism, race, and gender. She is interested in embodied knowledge and the concept of dissonance as tools to describe differences and concepts to live by.

Sunanda Mesquita is a transdisciplinary artist, dramaturge and ayurvedic wellness practitioner based in Vienna. Their artistic practice is focused on the possibilities of a radical, utopian, queer, feminist collectivity of BIPoCs and issues related to community, solidarity, and belonging.

Credits

Concept and performance Stefanie Sourial Performance Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee Set design/live drawing Patu Sound design Janine Jembere Dramaturgy Sunanda Mesquita Photography Abiona Esther Ojo Production management mollusca productions 

Funded by theCity of Vienna’s Department of Cultural Affairs and the Austrian Federal Ministry of Art, Culture, Civil Service and Sport.

Dates & Tickets

The performance on April 17 will be followed by an artist talk (Moderated by Sushila Mesquita). 

April 2023

Sat. 15.04.2023, 20:00
Choose your price €22 / €16 / €11

Mon. 17.04.2023, 20:00
Choose your price €22 / €16 / €11 / *Followed by an artist talk (Moderated by Sushila Mesquita).

Tue. 18.04.2023, 20:00
Choose your price €22 / €16 / €11

Wed. 19.04.2023, 20:00
Choose your price €22 / €16 / €11

Thu. 20.04.2023, 20:00
Choose your price €22 / €16 / €11

brut nordwest
Nordwestbahnstraße 8-10, 1200 Vienna

Downloads

Evening programme NEW ENDINGS (PDF)

 

Event recommendations

27.04.2023 - 30.04.2023

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh | ATASH عطش contemporary dance company

Ancestors’ Banquet

Dance / Performance
World premiere
Multiple languages

21.04.2023 - 24.04.2023

Mirjam Sögner

PURPLE SPHERES

Dance
world premiere
no spoken words

June 2024
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

brut all over Vienna

brut nordwest

accessible

Nordwestbahnstraße 8-10, 1200 Vienna
Subway: U1, U2 (Praterstern), U4 (Friedensbrücke), U6 (Dresdnerstraße) Tram: 5 (Nordwestbahnstraße) Bus: 5A (Wasnergasse)

Meeting point: Gasthaus Hansy at Praterstern

accessible 

Heinestraße 42 , 1020 Vienna
Subway: U1, U2 (Praterstern) / S-Bahn: S1, S2, S3, S4, S7 (Praterstern) / Tram: 5 (Praterstern)

May - June 2024
Out and about featuring QWIEN
The Nameless of Leopoldstadt

brut at Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien

accessible

Freyung 8, 1010 Vienna
Subway: U1 (Stephansplatz), U2 (Schottentor), U3 (Herrengasse) / Tram: 1, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44 (Schottentor) / Bus: 1A, 2A (Herrengasse U), 3A (Renngasse)

June 2024
Aldo Giannotti in Collaboration with Karin Pauer
HOUSE OF CONSTRUCTS

Rote Bar at Volkstheater

accessible

Arthur-Schnitzler-Platz 1, 1070 Vienna
Subway: U3 (Volkstheater) / Tram: 49 (Volkstheater) / Bus: 48A (Volkstheater)

brut at Sportplatz 1210

accessible

Jedlersdorfer Platz 25, 1210 Vienna
Subway U6 (Florisdorf) / S-Bahn: S1, S2, S3, S4, S7 (Floridsdorf) / Tram: 30, 31 (Brünner Straße / Hanreitergasse) / Bus: 30A, 32A (Toni Fritsch Weg)

studio brut

not accessible

Zieglergasse 25, 1070 Wien
Subway: U3 (Zieglergasse), Tram: 49 (Westbahnstraße / Zieglergasse)

brut nordwest – rehearsal space

not accessible

Nordwestbahnstraße 8-10, 1200 Vienna

June 2024
Exactly As Imagined

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita

NEW ENDINGS

brut nordwest
Performance Uraufführung in englischer Sprache
{Alltagsrassismus} {Widerstand} {Selbstermächtigung}

Stefanie Sourials jüngste Produktion leistet Widerstand gegen Alltagsrassismus und Gewalt. Drei Performende erwecken in NEW ENDINGS vergangene Ereignisse, ändern den Ausgang diverser unguter Situationen neu – durchaus auch mit Humor – und verwandeln mit den neuen Enden ihre Realitäten. Auf diese Weise erzählen sie ihre eigenen Geschichten, aber auch Geschichte neu.

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Abiona Esther Ojo

Stefanie Sourial, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee, Patu, Janine Jembere, Sunanda Mesquita – NEW ENDINGS

, © Patu

Stefanie Sourial – NEW ENDINGS

It was a regular summer afternoon … It was a day full of running errands … It was Lower Austria – zoom – Krems an der Donau – zoom – Altstadt – zoom – me on my way home from school … It was at an event called „Flüchtlings Ball“ to celebrate the „Diversity in Austria“ … It was at the entrance of the club, me finishing my cigarette before my shift … It was autumn or maybe end of winter, very gloomy, cold and rainy … when suddenly … when suddenly … when suddenly …

NEW ENDINGS leistet Widerstand gegen Alltagsrassismus und Gewalt mit den Mitteln der Selbstermächtigung. Die Performenden nehmen sich die Macht, gewaltvolle oder traumatische Erlebnisse neu zu erzählen und neu enden zu lassen. Die neuen Ausgänge ihrer Erlebnisse nehmen ihnen das Gefühl von „Hätte ich doch bloß …“ als Aufforderung, in die Situationen zurückzureisen und zu tun, was im lähmenden Moment damals nicht möglich war: zu reagieren, zu verblüffen, sich mit allen – performativen – Mitteln zu verteidigen und Geschichte durchaus auch mit Humor neu zu schreiben. Das künstlerische Team um Stefanie Sourial, Hyo Lee, Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Patu, Janine Jembere und Sunanda Mesquita behauptet sich gegen erfahrene Angriffe, erweckt vergangene Ereignisse und verwandelt diese in Musik, Live-Zeichnungen und eine Performance voller Kraft und Humor.

Stefanie Sourial, geboren 1981, arbeitet als Performancekünstlerin und lehrt an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. 2001/02 leitete sie Theaterworkshops mit obdachlosen Jugendlichen in Kairo. Als Absolventin der Internationalen Schule für Theater Jacques Lecoq in Paris kreiert Sourial ihre eigenen Soloprojekte: u. a. FREAK (2014/15), die Performancetrilogie Colonial Cocktail (2019) oder City of Diaspora (2021) in Kooperation mit brut Wien. Seit 2012 arbeitet Sourial mit der mehrfach preisgekrönten Kompanie Ad Infinitum in Großbritannien. Seit 2009 kollaboriert Sourial regelmäßig gemeinsam mit in Wien lebenden Performancekünstler*innen: u. a. Katrina Daschners Club Burlesque Brutal (2009–2015), Denice Bourbons PCCC* – Political Correct Comedy Club mit eigens geschriebenen antirassistischen und queeren Stand-up-Skits.Ihre Performances sind antirassistisch, queer und gesellschaftskritisch und verbinden zwei Erzählweisen miteinander: die historische und die persönliche – stets fokussiert auf das Politische.
https://www.stefaniesourial.com/

Faris Cuchi Gezahegn (they/them/she/her) ist ein*e intersektionelle*r LGBTQIA*-Unterstützer*in/Aktivist*in, Performancekünstler*in, PCCC-Stand-up-Comedian und Dichter*in, die*der verschiedene Medien wie Stilaktivismus, Schreiben, Performance und Video-/Audioinstallation nutzt, um sozialen Wandel herbeizuführen und ein Gespräch in Gang zu setzen, das Veränderung in Bezug auf Probleme katalysiert, mit denen xier im täglichen Leben als femme, nichtbinäre äthiopische/afrikanische LGBTQIA*-Fürsprecher*in mit Erfahrungen als Asylsuchende*r und Geflüchtete*r in Österreich und in xiers Heimatland Äthiopien konfrontiert ist. Faris Cuchi Gezahegnist Mitbegründer*in, Leiter*in und Co-Direktor*in bei House of Guramayle. House of Guramayle ist eine kollaborative intersektionelle Plattform, die von sozial und politisch marginalisierten äthiopischen Aktivist*innen auf der ganzen Welt gegründet wurde. Durch diese Arbeit vertrat xier die äthiopische Queer Community beim Menschenrechtsrat in Genf im September 2019, als Äthiopien unter der 33. Sitzung der universellen regelmäßigen Überprüfung stand.Faris Cuchi Gezahegn ist zudem Mitbegründer*in von Celestial Poetic, der monatlichen QBIPoC Open-Mic-Night im Villa Vida Café im historischen Queer-Community-Center Türkis Rosa Tippp. Xier ist Mitglied des Kollektivs Afro Rainbow Africa, das von Queeren Afrikaner*innen für Queere Afrikaner*innen in Österreich gegründet wurde, um Menschen in ihrer Ganzheit sowohl als afrikanische als auch als queere Körper willkommen zu heißen. Faris Cuchi Gezahegn arbeitet als psychosoziale*r Betreuer*in bei Queer Base: einer Organisation, die queere Menschen, die Asyl suchen, aufnimmt und ihnen verschiedene Dienstleistungen wie Rechtsvertretung, Sozialberatung, Unterkunft u. v. m. bietet.

Hyo Lee wurde in Seoul, Südkorea, geboren. Sie lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin in Wien. Hyo Lee studierte Fotografie und Videoinstallation an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien und der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Performative Auftritte hatte sie in Colonial Cocktail – Volume 2: Spirits (2019) von Stefanie Sourial sowie in Pomp (2020), Plum Circus (2019), Pfauenloch (2018), Pferdebusen (2017), Perlenmeere (2016), Powder Placenta (2015), Parole Rosette (2012) und Flaming Flamingos (2011) von Katrina Daschner.

Patu (@patuparia) ist Comic-Artist und freiberufliche*r Illustrator*in in Berlin. Patus Arbeiten fokussieren die Überschneidungen von Persönlichem und Strukturellem im Alltäglichen unter dem Gesichtspunkt von queerem und rassismuskritischem Empowerment. Als Self-Publisher bringt Patu seit 2010 Comic-Zines heraus und ist auf diversen internationalen Comic- und Zine-Festivals vertreten. Patu schrieb und zeichnete 2015 den Sachcomic Die kleine Geschichte des Feminismus, der in fünf Sprachen übersetzt wurde, 2017 einen Band der Homestories Comics von Vina Yun über die koreanische Diaspora in Wien und 2020 den Comic AQUARIUM, in dem Ausschlüsse in der weiß dominierten Comicbranche thematisiert werden. Aktuell arbeitet Patu an einer BIPoC-Zine und einer Self-Publishing-Plattform und schreibt an einem neuen Comic.

Janine Jembere ist Künstlerin, Forscherin und Kulturarbeiterin in Wien. Sie arbeitet in verschiedenen Konstellationen an Performances, Installationen, Video, Sound und Bildungsprojekten. Ihre Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit Sinnen und Körpern und befragen Konzepte der Repräsentation und der Übersetzbarkeit, Ableismus, Rasse und Geschlecht. Sie interessiert sich für verkörpertes Wissen und das Konzept von Dissonanz als Werkzeuge, Differenzen zu beschreiben und zu leben.

Sunanda Mesquita ist transdisziplinäre Künstler_in, Dramaturg_in und Ayurvedische-Wellness-Praktiker_in in Wien. Ihre künstlerische Praxis konzentriert sich auf die Möglichkeiten einer radikalen, utopischen, queeren, feministischen Kollektivität von BIPoCs und Themen rund um Community, Solidarität und Zugehörigkeit. 

Credits

Konzept und Performance Stefanie Sourial Performance Faris Cuchi Gezahegn, Hyo Lee Bühnenbild/Live-Zeichnung Patu Sounddesign Janine Jembere Dramaturgie Sunanda Mesquita Fotografie Abiona Esther Ojo Produktion mollusca productions 

Gefördert durch dieKulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und das Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport.

Termine & Tickets

Im Anschluss an die Performance am 17. April findet ein Artist Talk statt (Moderation: Sushila Mesquita).

April 2023

Sa. 15.04.2023, 20:00
Wahlpreis in den Kategorien 22 € / 16 € / 11 €

Mo. 17.04.2023, 20:00
Wahlpreis in den Kategorien 22 € / 16 € / 11 € / *Artist Talk im Anschluss (Moderation: Sushila Mesquita).

Di. 18.04.2023, 20:00
Wahlpreis in den Kategorien 22 € / 16 € / 11 €

Mi. 19.04.2023, 20:00
Wahlpreis in den Kategorien 22 € / 16 € / 11 €

Do. 20.04.2023, 20:00
Wahlpreis in den Kategorien 22 € / 16 € / 11 €

brut nordwest
Nordwestbahnstraße 8-10, 1200 Wien

Downloads

Abendprogramm NEW ENDINGS (PDF)

 

Empfohlene Veranstaltungen

27.04.2023 - 30.04.2023

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh | ATASH عطش contemporary dance company

Ancestors’ Banquet

Tanz / Performance
Uraufführung
mehrere Sprachen

21.04.2023 - 24.04.2023

Mirjam Sögner

PURPLE SPHERES

Tanz
Uraufführung
ohne Sprache

April 2024
Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          

brut all over Vienna

brut nordwest

barrierefrei

Nordwestbahnstraße 8-10, 1200 Wien
U-Bahn: U1, U2 (Praterstern), U4 (Friedensbrücke), U6 (Dresdnerstraße) Tram: 5 (Nordwestbahnstraße) Bus: 5A (Wasnergasse)

April 2024
Mzamo Nondlwana
Turning Point
April 2024
Daniela Georgieva
Fluscia
Mai - Juni 2024
Nesterval
Der Rosa Winkel

Treffpunkt: Gasthaus Hansy am Praterstern

barrierefrei

Heinestraße 42, 1020 Wien
U-Bahn: U1, U2 (Praterstern) / S-Bahn: S1, S2, S3, S4, S7 (Praterstern) / Tram: 5 (Praterstern)

Mai - Juni 2024
Out and about mit QWIEN
Die Namenlosen der Leopoldstadt

brut im Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien

barrierefrei

Freyung 8, 1010 Wien
U-Bahn: U1 (Stephansplatz), U2 (Schottentor), U3 (Herrengasse) / Tram: 1, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44 (Schottentor) / Bus: 1A, 2A (Herrengasse U), 3A (Renngasse)

Juni 2024
Aldo Giannotti in Kollaboration mit Karin Pauer
HOUSE OF CONSTRUCTS

Rote Bar im Volkstheater

barrierefrei

Arthur-Schnitzler-Platz 1, 1070 Wien
U-Bahn: U3 (Volkstheater) / Tram: 49 (Volkstheater) / Bus: 48A (Volkstheater)

Juni 2024
Arno Böhler, Susanne Valerie Granzer, Sabina Holzer & Florian Reiners
ROTE *HERZENS*ANGELEGENHEITEN

brut am Sportplatz 1210

barrierefrei

Jedlersdorfer Platz 25, 1210 Wien
U-Bahn: U6 (Florisdorf) / S-Bahn: S1, S2, S3, S4, S7 (Floridsdorf) / Tram: 30, 31 (Brünner Straße / Hanreitergasse) / Bus: 30A, 32A (Toni Fritsch Weg)

Juni 2024
Theater im Bahnhof
ZU ENDE GEHEN

studio brut

nicht barrierefrei

Zieglergasse 25, 1070 Wien
U-Bahn: U3 (Zieglergasse), Tram: 49 (Westbahnstraße / Zieglergasse)

April - Mai 2024
Claudia Lomoschitz
Vibrant Void

brut nordwest – Proberäume

nicht barrierefrei

Nordwestbahnstraße 8-10, 1200 Wien

Mai 2024
Handle with care mit Jaskaran Anand
Juni 2024
Ein temporäres Kollektiv von Studierenden und Künstler*innen aus der Abteilung Ortsbezogene Kunst/Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien
Exactly as Imagined